top of page

Hospital School SA

ホスピタルスクール


It was already one month ago, on 6 of May.

Kyoko the president and Stuart the vice president visited Hospital School SA in Women's and Children's Hospital and donated some Japanese Calligraphy equipment such as calligraphy brushes, bottles of black ink and calligraphy paper plus Origami paper. The principal the school Mr. Matthew McCurry gave a Certificate of Appreciation to AJA.

It was a humble donation but we are very glad to be able to help Ms Noriko and her students who cannot attend local schools because of their health conditions.


Ms Noriko Fukunaga who is one of the teachers at the school wrote to AJA two months ago. She said that she has been teaching kids Japanese and when she introduced the kids how to use calligraphy brush, kids love it. It helps kids to concentrate and enjoy learning better. However, Noriko san has been using her daughter’s calligraphy brush for a long time, she needed better one. She couldn’t find any calligraphy brushes at some of the Japanese Nick Nack shop where normally being able to buy but because of COVID pandemic, those shops also had problem to get one.

AJA had about 10 brushes and we have been using them when we had Japanese Cultural event but because of the pandemic, we haven’t had any event so far. So are not using the equipment soon.

Our committee agreed to donate some of the gears to the Hospital School who really need them now.

So we gave them Big brushes 6 used brushes plus a new one,

Thepricipal, Mr.Matthew McCurry gaveus a Certificate of Appreciation and thephoto is on their FB Page.


皆さんは、ホスピタルスクールという学校をご存じですか?入院していて学校に通えない子供たちが病室や病院の中の教室で勉強できるように、病院の中にある学校です。

もう1か月も前になってしまいましたが、会長の京子と副会長のスチュアートと二人で、日本語を教えている福永のりこ先生に書道の筆、墨汁液、半紙、そして折り紙などを寄贈させていただきました。校長先生のマット先生より、感謝状までいただきました。ありがとうございます。これからも、何かの形でお手伝いしたいなと考えています。

きっかけは、この学校で教えている福永のりこさんからAJAにメールがありました。

「子供たちと一緒に書道をすると、子供たちがとても集中して、楽しんでくれるんです。でも、自分の娘が小さいときに使っていた習字道具の筆しかなくて、もしAJAで寄付してくださることが可能でしたら大変嬉しいのですが、、、」という内容でした。

ということで、コミッティーに相談して、AJAでイベントなどの時に書道コーナーで使っている筆が10本ありましたので、1本は未使用のものを含めて6本、小筆も2本(1本は未使用)そして、墨汁液未使用のもの3本、半紙も袋は開いていましたが、紙そのものは使っていない半紙を100枚以上、プラス折り紙も3パックを寄贈させていただきました。


AJAでは、バーンサイドジャパニーズカルチャーデーなどで、書道のコーナーをするときに使っていた筆が10本ほどあっりましたが、去年はコロナのためにイベントもありませんでしたし、今年もまだ日程が決まっていないので、AJAで使いたいときは、ネットショップなどから買えるので、3本だけ残して、今すぐに必要としているのりこ先生の学校に、7本を寄贈することにしました。

校長先生、副校長先生、そして、日本語担当ののりこ先生も大変喜んでくださり、校長先生から、感謝状までいただいてきました。

AJAでは、これからも、日本的なこと、例えば、浴衣の着付け、折り紙などでお手伝いできることがあれば、お手伝いできればと思っています。

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page